Tags

, , ,

While we are on the topic of privilege: The day I checked my privilege by Sarah Tuttle-Singer at the Times of Israel blogs.

So let’s see. I step forward for having enough to eat, being white, not being disabled, trusting the police, not having to work through high school, not being LGBT* and probably lots of other stuff. I step backwards for not being Christian and being a woman. It reminds me of the game we used to play in kibbutz with the other volunteers about how to marginalise yourself. Left-handed female, Jewish geek is quite ok, but of course being from a first world country gave me serious minus points.

So, today I will acknowledge my privileges. I am thankful for being who I am. I am thankful for all the opportunities I have. I am thankful to live where I live. I am thankful for all the people who are in my life. May it be your will, G-d, that I use my privilege for the good of others.

