Tags

, , , ,

This heartbreaking snippet comes from a post about the difficulty of being a convert on family-oriented holidays:

Here’s what will happen: I’ve bought tickets for the two seder meals at the local Jewish community. It’s an Orthodox synagogue, but as common in Germany, only the rabbi and maybe five other families are religious. The rest is made up of ancient Russians, who go to the Seder because they’ve been promised a lavish meal with their all-time-favorite dishes like chicken soup, beet salad, and – most importantly – alcohol. Much alcohol, this time. I’ll take a seat among that illustrious group of people forty years my senior. Then I’ll give my whole attention to the vegetarian dishes for about three hours while the others happily chat in Russian and ignore me. I’ll stay till we’re done with the Seder, walk home, and cry.
(Nadine Grzeszick: Passover: A Plague to Converts)

I have felt the same way, experienced the same thing. In ten years, I have once (1 time, exactly) been invited to a holiday by a Jewish family. A few times I have celebrated with a group of Jewish student friends far from home (fun), or a bunch of other converts (fun, but also awkward), most holidays I celebrate with the community (more or less fun depending on the people). To have nowhere to go on a holiday, is the worst.

But everybody can help the lonely converts. Let Nadine have a better seder this year! Jewish families – invite the converts, the lonely students, the baal teshuva, and all those who have nowhere to go. And you, the lonely ones – do something, invite other lonely people. Even if you throw a party for your non-Jewish friends, don’t sit at home, alone, in the dark. That’s not how it’s supposed to be.

