Tags

, , ,

Three incidents made me think about the connection between pesach and food allergies or diet choices. A while ago I wanted to invite a friend and she told me that she is lactose intolerant and gluten sensitive. As I am a vegetarian it took us some time to find a dish we could both eat. Another time one of my guests for pesach was lactose intolerant. And finally I remember myself at several occasions bringing my own food for pesach to make sure I have something to eat.

One message pesach teaches (in my opinion) is to make people more sensitive to the fact that some people have limitations in what they can or cannot eat. Some by choice, some not. And that it can be difficult to find food that accomodates this need – just like finding kosher lePesach food can be difficult.

